LS Design

Louis Slatter
2 min readMar 1, 2021

--

My design logo.

Over the next 5 weeks I will be developing a social media channel with the aid of two supplementary channels. The name of this channel is ‘LS Design’ it is a YouTube channel on which I will share my design work and ‘how-to’ tutorials aimed at designer just starting out on their design journey.

The reason for choosing YouTube as the main channel of producing and sharing content is that I much prefer using speech over writing, YouTube also aligns with the visual nature of design work through the use of videos on it’s platform.

an image of LS Design’s YouTube channel homepage
Homepage for my YouTube channel.

LS Design will be my channel for sharing design tutorials such as how to use ‘Adobe Photoshop’, 3D design software like ‘Maxon cinema 4D’ and even some motion graphic tutorials on ‘Adobe Premier Pro’. The channel will also focus on short content to appeal to YouTube’s new ‘shorts’ feature, this new feature is shown to have massive growth potential for channels on the platform and therefore it will be a focal point for my content creation.

Twitter’s new ‘Moments’ feature.

In addition to the YouTube channel, I will be using Twitter to advertise and promote my content to a wider audience. Twitter has recently implemented their ‘moments’ feature, this allows content creators to cultivate their own and other’s photos, videos and tweets into a collection. Making these ‘moments’ will allow me to showcase my own tutorial videos along side other’s content. Here’s a tutorial on How to make a moment in Twitter. Alternatively I could utilize a bot on Twitter that ‘unrolls’ 280-word tweet threads into 1 complete blog post, I could then share a link to this post on my twitter account, allowing people to read the full story with ease. The Verge’s article on ‘How to unroll a twitter thread’ is a great guide on how to do this.

My aim over the next 5 weeks is to regularly upload content to my YouTube channel and to direct aspiring graphical designers to said channel via regular posts of my secondary social media channel, Twitter. Feel free to check out the LS Design YouTube channel if you’re interested.

--

--